Avoidance, Apprehension and Anxiety

This ECI831 class has opened my eyes to soooo many new ways to use technology to benefit my teaching and also my personal life.  However, some days I feel more disconnected than I did pre-Twitter.  I think it’s because there are so many ways to grow my personal learning network and so many outlets (blog, google+, twitter, etc) that I am struggling to manage all of them.  As of late I have fallen off the twitter-wagon.  A few weeks ago it was my aim to tweet once a day and to keep up with my twitter feed nightly.  This has been a struggle for the last little while.  I am also struggling to blog regularly.  And while I’m being honest I must admit that I rarely use my google+ account nor have I been commenting much on others’ blogs.  For this I need to apologize because I realized tonight, after reading back my previous blog, that the questions I posed were never answered and this is disappointing.  I may be struggling with the parameters of keeping on top of all these new networks, but I am definitely giving them an honest try.  Where I am finding the most benefit is in my classroom.  I am really enjoying trying new tech tools with my students and sharing my learning along the way.  Not only does it engage them because it peeks their digital interest, but it shows them that learning is lifelong.  I realize that when our weekly online class is over I will have to look to Twitter, the Google+ communities, and other bloggers to stay informed about the new trends and tools that are useful for technology in education.

Will I continue my blog?  Will my tweets become even less frequent?  Will the e-tools I’m using now become my comfort zone?  These are all questions I have about my future as a wannabe tech-forward teacher.  I want to continue to progress, but I also want to become proficient at using certain tools before I move on to the “next-best-thing”.  Similarly, I was thinking about the types of adaptations I make within my classroom last week as I was preparing for Student Led Conferences.  I was thinking that there are some I feel very confident in applying and some that I’m not sure I’ve ever put in to action.  My question therefore is whether depth or breadth of teaching knowledge and skills is more important?  My personal opinion is that I will never be an expert in every area, however I would like to have a general idea about everything my job entails, and perhaps more aware of a few certain areas.  Could technology be one of those areas?

In other news, I am going to a SMART board training at my board office!  I am very excited to learn some great ways to utilize this new tool to maximize student engagement and learning.  I will be sure to blog about my learning.  Maybe I should make a top ten list or something.  Whatever I learn, I am looking forward to some face-to-face instruction and hopefully some tried and tested resources.  Until now it has been learning via my students, playing around, and some searching of my own to find how-to’s, activities and tips and tricks.

I will keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

